Researchers

Faculty

NAME DEPARTMENT EMAIL RESEARCH / CLINICAL INTEREST / TOOLS / EXPERTISE
Bakshi, Rahul Clinical Pharmacology rbakshi@jhmi.edu Anti-infective drug development, trypanosomes, malaria, HIV
Barrow, Jim Pharmacology & Molecular Sciences jbarrow@jhmi.edu medicinal chemistry; getting small molecules across the BBB
Bergles, Dwight Neuroscience dbergles@jhmi.edu astrocyte cell signaling; regulation of blood flow; vascular development
Bigos, Kristi Lieber Institute kristi.bigos@libd.org
Buchler, Ingrid Lieber Institute ingrid.buchler@libd.org
DePasquale, Michael Lieber Institute michael.depasquale@libd.org
Dumler, Steve Pathology-Medical Microbiology sdumler@jhmi.edu
Farahani, Keyvan Radiology – Diagnostic Radiology farahani@nih.gov Imaging
Gerecht, Sharon Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering gerecht@jhu.edu vascular differentiation & engineering; stem cells – pluripotent & adult; microfluidics for shear & hypoxic cues; biomaterials for delivery & diff.
Grab, Dennis Pathology-Medical Microbiology dgrab1@jhmi.edu infectious diseases; african trypanosomes
Green, Jordan Biomedical Engineering – Cell & Tissue Engineering green@jhu.edu
Grossman, Stuart Oncology Center-Brain Cancer grossman@jhmi.edu
Haughey, Norman Neurology-Neuroimmunology & Neurological Infections nhaughe1@jhmi.edu biological membranes; neurodegenerative disease; lipidomic/ metabolite by mass spec
Holdhoff, Matthias Oncology Center mholdho1@jhmi.edu
Hristova, Kalina Materials Science & Engineering kh@jhu.edu bridging the BBB with designer peptides – vehicles for drug delivery
Jimison, Leslie Applied Physics Laboratory Leslie.Jimison@jhuapl.edu
Kannan, Sujatha Pediatric Anesthesiology skannan3@jhmi.edu
Kleinberg, Larry Radiation Oncology & Molecular Radiation Sciences kleinla@jhmi.edu clinical problem of understanding how affects of therapy on BBB affect imaging & increase drug delivery
Koehler, Raymond Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine rkoehler@jhmi.edu stroke; TBI; neurvascular coupling
Kupfer, Avi Cell Biology akupfer@jhmi.edu imaging of bacterial crossing of BBB in vitro; multidimensional imaging of the immune synapse
Lee, Gabsang Neurology glee48@jhmi.edu
Leigh, Rich Neurology – Cerebrovascular Medicine rleigh4@jhu.edu MRI quantification of BBB disruption using gadolincum based imaging; stroke; hemorrhage; vascular dementia; multiple sclerosis
Mao, Hai-Quan Materials Science & Engineering hmao@jhu.edu artificial matrix; stem cell engineering; tissue engineering
Meyers, David Pharmacology & Molecular Sciences dmeyers7@jhmi.edu
Moghekar, Abhay Neurology am@jhmi.edu in-vivo & in-vitro models of assessing BBB function; kinetics of BBB transport
Ostrovska, Lyubov Johns Hopkins University SCiTerra ostrovl@yahoo.com brain/ cancer treatment
Ostrow, Lyle Neurology – Neuromuscular Medicine lostrow1@jhmi.edu astrocytes; astrocyte-endothelial cell interactions; endothelins; cellular mechanosensation
Paredes, Daniel Lieber Institute daniel.paredes@libd.org
Pearl, Monica Interventional Neuroradiology msmit135@jhmi.edu Interested in optimizing uptake in the pons, specifically for the intra-arterial treatment of pontine gliomas in children. Expertise in neurovascular technical experience (i.e. intra-arterial, catheter based delivery, image guidance, etc.
Pomper, Martin Radiology – Neuroradiology mpomper@jhmi.edu Synthesizing imaging agents that are capable of reaching targets within the brain and the development of drugs that will enable chemotherapeutics and other agents to gain access to the CNS. We have developed a medium-throughput assay for inhibitors of the ABCG2 MDR pump and would like to test them in relevant models to see if any can enhance CNS access of compounds of interest.
Rojas, Camilo Brain Science Institute – NeuroTranslational Program crojas2@jhmi.edu
Romer, Lew Anesthesiology & Pediatric Critical Care Medicine lromer@jhmi.edu microvasculogenesis; endothelial cell-matrix adhesion; EC cytoskeleton and signaling; interactions between non-receptor tyrosine kinases and rho family GTPases; mechanotransduction in EC growth
Rothstein, Jeff Neurology-Neuromuscular Medicine jrothstein@jhmi.edu
Searson, Peter Materials Science & Engineering searson@jhu.edu physics of the BBB; engineered artificial brain capillary
Shapiro, Terry Medicine – Clinical Pharmacology tshapiro@jhmi.edu African trypanosomes
Stins, Monique Neurology-Neuroimmunology & Neurological Infections mstins@jhmi.edu BBB modeling; primary cell isolation; activation of microbes
Sun, Sean Mechanical Engineering ssun@jhu.edu mathematical modeling; intracellular & extracellular transport; role of molecular motors; cell biophysics
Tierney, Elaine Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences-Child Psychiatry tierney@kennedykrieger.org (interest) lipids- cholesterol & apolipoproteins role in transport in BBB; (expertise) psychiatry, behavioral phonotyping/ description
Wang, Jian Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine jwang79@jhmi.edu intracerebral hemorrhage; neuroportection; BBB protection


Postdocs

NAME DEPARTMENT EMAIL RESEARCH / CLINICAL INTEREST / TOOLS / EXPERTISE
Alnasser, Yossef Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine yalnass1@jhmi.edu
Furmanski, Orion Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine ofurman1@jhmi.edu blood-spinal cord barrier permiability & chromic pain/ remodeling after injury; (cardio)vascular remodeling in hypoxia & pulmonary hypertension; developed recombinant resistin family (especially HIMF/FIZZ) proteins
Hayes, Lindsay Molecular Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences lhayes14@jhmi.edu
Jackson, Sadhana Neuro-Oncology & Brain Cancer Program sjacks78@jhmi.edu
Jiang, Mali Psychiatry & Neuobiology mjiang5@jhmi.edu neurodegeneration
Kraya, Ramsey Materials Science & Engineering rkraya@jhu.edu
Nance, Elizabeth Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering enance2@jhu.edu
Passeri, Eleonora Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences epasser1@jhmi.edu
Zayats, Maya Materials Science & Engineering maya.zayats@jhu.edu


Students

NAME DEPARTMENT EMAIL RESEARCH / CLINICAL INTEREST / TOOLS / EXPERTISE
Alkhunaizi, Fatimah Grad – Cognitive Science fatimah@jhu.edu Microglia
Bogorad, Max Grad – Materials Science & Engineering mbogora1@jhu.edu
Campian, Jian Grad – Oncology Center-Hematology & Medical Oncology jcampia1@jhmi.edu
Gallagher, Erin Grad – Materials Science & Engineering egallag8@jhu.edu
Huang, Yu-Ja Grad – Materials Science & Engineering yhuang59@jhmi.edu
Hultz, Margot Undergrad – Materials Science & Engineering mhultz1@jhu.edu
Komin, Alex Grad – Materials Science & Engineering alexkomin@jhu.edu
Levy, Amanda Grad – Materials Science & Engineering alevy18@jhu.edu
Lorenzini, Ileana Grad – Neuroscience ilopez2@jhmi.edu gliovascualr changes in ALS disease; 3D image reconstruction in mouse models of ALS
Russell, Luisa Grad – Materials Science & Engineering lrusse15@jhu.edu nanoparticles
Sanchez, Henry Undergrad – Materials Science & Engineering hsanche3@jhu.edu
Shyam, Rishab Grad – Biomedical Engineering rshyam@jhmi.edu BBB Delivery
Tammia, Markus Grad – Materials Science & Engineering mtammia1@jhu.edu
Thakur, Kiran Grad – Neurology-Neuroimmunology & Neurological Infections kthakur1@jhmi.edu
Tzeng, Stephany Grad – Biomedical Engineering stzeng1@jhu.edu
Wiedman, Greg Grad – Materials Science & Engineering gwiedman@jhu.edu
Wong, Andrew Grad – Materials Science & Engineering awong@jhu.edu
Xu, Zinnia Grad – Biomedical Engineering zxu20@jhmi.edu
Ye, Mao Grad – Physics mye@pha.jhu.edu
Zhang, Clark Grad – Biomedical Engineering czhang30@jhmi.edu Nanoparticle delivery through BBB and brain tissue for treatment of central nervous system diseases
Zhang, Elena (Zhi) Grad – Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine zzhang74@jhmi.edu neuroscience

 

To join the working group, or to have changes made to your info, send an email to dtiggle1@jhu.edu.